A Century of Ashland Arrow Football
' ' '
' ' '
The Early Years
1907 - 1918
' ' '
NCO Years
' ' '
Independent Era
' ' '
Cardinal Conference
1960 - 1986
' ' '
Ohio Heartland
1987 - 2002
' ' '
2003 - 2023
2022 Record 6-5
Ohio Cardinal Conf. 4-2
Place 3rd.


Ashland High School 2022 Football Team

Photo above is used with permission from John Maurer, Photographer

Varsity Football:
Ethan Truax, Landon McFrederick, Claytin Fawcett, Drew Briggs, Bryston Martin, Colin Caram,
Brayden Long, Caden VanTilburg, Dakota Pitz, Connor Ohl, Jonathan Metzger, Colton Johnson,
Brayden Morris, Ayden Bryant
Luca Portz, Caiden Piatt, Hayden Hensel, Kayden Briggs, Riley Hammond, Braxton Hunt, Grayson
Steury, Max Harpster, Parker Grissinger, Cayden Spotts, Josh Pancake, Gavin Burkhammer
Joey Isenhart, Brantyn Long, Nolen LaRue, Conner Crunkilton, Brandon Ford, Austin Downing,
Owen Repp, Luke Bryant, Isaac Stewart, Noah Fent, Austyn Voiers, Alex Grissinger, Michael
Cooper Smith, Landon Briggs, Caleb Pigman, August Rausch, Tyler Sauder, Jayden Goings, Gavin
Hoffman, Ruger McQuillen, Jacob Herrera, Hayden DiPuccio, Gavin Chambers
Courtney Turner, Lincoln Emery, Liam Gertel, Trevor Wilt, Jackson Aber, Nathan Bernhard,
Dylan Wodzisz, Tyler Holt, Aiden Burkhammner, Joshua Ingani
Matt Dilgard, Tom Howman, Brian Hennis, Cayleb Cox, Austin Yeater, Sean Seder, Cody Hickey,
Chris Schmidt, Scott Sauder, Kevin Lacey, Owen Reef
Not Pictured: Chad Hider, Nathan Godsey, Jeffery Peterman

    LINE UP:    
  '           Offense   Defense:
' ' ' '' ' ' ' '' ' ' ''
AHS 28   Norwayne   61   WR Jon Metzger DL Caden Piatt
AHS 49   MARION HARDING   7   WR Landon McFrederick DL Kaden Briggs
AHS 35   BUCKEYE VALLEY   16   OL Bryston Martin DL Joey Isenhart/ Cooper Smith
AHS 7   New Philly   15   OL Colin Caram OLB Jon Metzger
AHS 49   MT VERNON   0   OL Riley Hammond MLB Parker Grissinger
AHS 49   MANSFIELD MADISON   14   OL Hayden Hensel MLB Gunner Lacey/ Ethan Truax
20   Mansfield Sr   27   OL Andrew Briggs OLB Ethan Truax/ Connor Ohl
AHS 39   West Holmes   63   WR Grayson Steury CB Braden Long/ Colton Johnson
AHS 26   WOOSTER   21   WR Colton Johnson FS Caden VanTilBurg
AHS 42   LEXINGTON   28   RB Cayden Spotts SS Tyler Sauder
AHS 7   Toledo Central Catholic   69   QB  Luke Bryant/Nathan Bernhard CB  Landon McFredrick

The Arrows returned the Erie Bell with their 49-7 defeat of Marion Harding. The railroad
bell came back to Ashland for the first time since 1994. The A’s were unlucky in their
13 th State playoff appearance. They were eliminated by the eventual State champions
Toledo Central Catholic.

The A’s set five passing records. Jon Metzger, 1 st team All-Ohio, set the single season
yards (1312), career yards (2539), and career receptions (160). QB Luke Bryant threw for
489 yards against West Holmes on 33 completions.

Ethan Truax led the defense with 130 tackles twenty-one for losses, and his best game
was Madison with 24 tackles. He was honorable mention All-Ohio.
Riley Hammond won the George Valentine Sportsmanship award.

Researched by Paul R. Dienstberger, Web Design by Cathy Buscher
All rights reserved. Last modified- Monday, October 9, 2023 5:22 PM